tipitaka banner


Digha Nikaya, Collection of long discourses of the Buddha

This Collection in the Suttanta Pitaka, named Digha Nikaya as it is made up of thirty-four long discourses of the Buddha, is divided into three divisions:

  1. Silakkhandha Vagga, Division Concerning Morality
  2. MahâVagga, the Large Division
  3. Pâthika Vagga, the Division beginning with the discourse on Pâthika