2. Vibhałga Pćąi

Book of Analysis

The second book of the Abhidhamma PiĄaka, Vibhałga, together with the first book DhammasałgaĽř and the third book Dhćtukathć, forms a closely related foundation for the proper and deep understanding of the Buddha’s Dhamma. Whereas DhammasałgaĽř provides a bird’s eye view of the whole of the Tika and Duka groups with further systematic arrangements under classified heads, Vibhałga and Dhćtukathć give a closer view of selected portions of those groups bringing out minute details.

Thus, KoĄĄhćsa Vćra in DhammasałgaĽř explains what and how many khandha, ćyatana, dhćtu, ćhćra, indriya, jhćnałga etc. are included in the Tika and Duka groups. But it does not furnish complete information about these dhammas. It is Vibhałga which provides full knowledge concerning them, stating the exact nature of each dhamma, its constituents and its relationship to other dhammas.

The Vibhałga is divided into eighteen Chapters each dealing with a particular aspect of the Dhamma; its full analysis and investigation into each constituent. The arrangement and classification into groups and heads follow the same system as in the DhammasałgaĽř. Vibhałga may therefore be regarded as complementary to DhammasałgaĽř.

Vibhałga explains comprehensively the following categories of Dhamma.

(i) Khandha

(ii) Ćyatana 

(iii) Dhćtu

(iv) Sacca 

(v) Indriya 

(vi) Paticcasamuppćda 

(vii) SatipaĄĄhćna

(viii) Sammappadhćna (xvii) Khuddhaka vatthu

(ix) Iddhipćda

(x) Bojjhałga

(xi) Magga

 (xii) Jhćna

(xiii) Appammańńć

(xiv) Sikkhćpada

(xv) PaĄisaµbhidć

(xvi) ŃćĽa

(xvi) ŃćĽa

Each category is analysed end discussed in two or all the three of the following methods of analysis: Suttanta bhćjanřya – the meaning of the terms and the classification of the dhammas determined according to the Suttanta method; Abhidhamma bhćjanřya – the meaning of the terms and the classification of the dhammas determined according to the Abhidhamma method; Pańha pucchaka, discussions in the form of questions and answers.

It may be seen from the above list of the eighteen categories that they may be divided into three separate groups. The first group containing numbers (i)-(vi) deals with mental and corporeal constituents of beings and two laws of nature to which they are constantly subjected viz: the Law of Impermanence and the Law of Dependent Origination. The second group containing numbers (vii)-(xii) is concerned with the practice of the holy life which will take beings out of suffering and rounds of existence. The remaining six categories serve as a supplement to the first two groups, supplying fuller information and details where necessary.