Guide to Tipitaka


Samyutta Nikaya

This collection of discourses in the Suttanta PiĽaka known as Saľyutta Nikćya has 7,762 suttas of varied length, generally short, arranged in a special order according to subject matter into five major divisions: (a) Sagćthć Vagga, (b) Nidćna Vagga, (c) Khandha Vagga, (d) Sašćyatana Vagga and (e) Mahć Vagga. Each major vagga is divided into fifty-six groups known as saľyuttas – related subjects grouped together.
The saľyuttas are named after the subjects they deal with, for example, Bojjhałga Saľyutta on the Seven Factors of Enlightenment, or after some principal personalities such as the Venerable Sćriputta, King Pasenadi of Kosala, or Sakka. Kosala Saľyutta is a group of discourses concerning King Pasenadi of Kosala, and Devata Saľyutta deals with devas like Sakka, Indra, Brahmć, etc.

Each saľyutta is further divided into sections which are made up of individual suttas. Thus the well-known Dhammacakkappavattana Sutta is the first discourse (sutta) in the second section of Sacca Saľyutta which comes under the Mahćvagga division of Saľyutta Nikćya. In the following excerpts from Saľyutta Nikćya, only a few suttas representing each major division are given.

Samyutta Nikâya – five major divisions:

(a) Sagâthâ Vagga Samyutta Pâli
(b) Nidâna Vagga Samyutta Pâli
(c) Khandha Vagga Samyutta Pâli
(d) Salâyatana Vagga Saľyutta Pâli
(e) Mahâ Vagga Samyutta Pâli