Majjhima Nikæya
Collection of Medium Length Discourses of the Buddha

This collection of medium length discourses is made up of one hundred and fifty-two suttas in three books known as pa¼¼æsa. The first book, Mşlapa¼¼æsa, deals with the first fifty suttas in five vaggas; the second book, Majjhimapa¼¼æsa consists of the second fifty suttas in five vaggas too; and the last fifty-two suttas are dealt with in five vaggas of the third book, Uparipa¼¼æsa, which means more than fifty.

(a) Mulapannâsa Pâli
(b) Majjhima Pannâsa Pâli
(c) Uparipannâsa Pâli

The suttas in this Nikaya throw much light on the social ideas and institutions of those days, and also provide general information on the economic and political life.